Arrival of 96 thousand sugar mobile to North Kordofan     (13) water dams in Darfur, Red Sea and Blue Nile states     MIDDLE EAST: Hafer suffers brain damage     “IGAD” indefinitely postponed peace talks in southern Sudan     Study: “Imogi” responsible for the deterioration of English     Cuba awaits the first president born after the revolution     Source: gunmen planning to establish self-rule south Syria under the auspices of Washington     Ghandour: Foreign Ministry is working to lift the name of Sudan from the list of terrorism     Daily Arabic headlines Sudanese Thuresday 19 April 2018     Daily Arabic Sport headlines Sudanese Thursday 19 April 2018    

Has Africa begun to split into two continents?

The discovery of a large rift near the Kenyan capital of Nairobi has reinforced a scientific view that is rapidly accelerating the tectonic plateleting of the African continent, leading to the eventual division of Africa into two continents.

The large “crack” in southwestern Kenya in the Narok region late last week, several hundred meters deep and 15 meters deep, cut off the May-Maho-Narukh trade route.

The astonishing images of this cracking prompted some scientific bodies to consider what had happened as evidence of the future separation of the continent into two parts. However, the French newspaper Le Parisien pointed out that this theory – certainly based on scientific reality – is far from consensus among researchers.

The Kenyan region is located in the Great Rift Valley, which stretches thousands of kilometers from the Gulf of Aden in the north to Zimbabwe in the south. The rift affects the outer layer of the earth’s crust, which is the first step in the process of separating the continent into Two parts mediated by an ocean, and that is a very slow process, according to Lubarizian.

“It was this growing rift that caused the collapse of part of the Nairobi-Naroc road, which was accompanied by seismic activity in the region,” the paper quoted London University researcher Lucía Perez Diaz as saying in an article published on the English website The Conferencing.

“What we see in front of us is a rift that is certainly over thousands, maybe even hundreds of thousands of years,” the US geologist Ben Andrews said in an interview with CBS.

According to Andrews, recent heavy rains in Kenya have revealed a deeper phenomenon, the movement of tectonic plates, that is, led to cracks in the earth’s crust moving about 2.5 cm per year, as he put it.

However, Luparisian cited the hypothesis of the US seismologist Stephen Hicks as saying in a tweet on Twitter that “this fault has not been accompanied by seismic activities, and there is no sign that the direct cause is the Great Rift Valley.”

In this context, Hicks said he preferred the simpler option, which was due to the floods caused by heavy rains in Kenya, but that the cause of the crack was not movement in tectonic plates.

US geologist Wendy Bohun agreed with this view, asserting at the same time that this does not affect her belief that the African continent is in the process of separation to two continents.

If this gradual “separation” continues, it will separate the Horn of Africa, Somalia, Ethiopia, Kenya and Tanzania from the continent. But such a scenario would take tens of millions of years, Lobarezian said.
Source: French Press







Read Also

أبرز عناوين الصحف الرياضية السودانية الصادرة يوم الأثنين 15 أكتوبر 2018م     السودان يرحب بإعلان بيونغ يانغ     شُح السيولة .. انجلاء الأزمة     توقعات بأن تسود رياح مثيرة للغبار في البلاد     العين الكسولة.. المخ لا يدمج الصور     اتساع دائرة المقاطعة العالمية لمؤتمر الاستثمار بالسعودية     “ديمقراطي إلى حد ما”.. ترامب يتوقع رحيل وزير دفاعه     نائب رئيس جنوب أفريقيا يصل البلاد الإثنين     الدرديري إلى إنجمينا وبانغي الإثنين لدعم جهود السلام بأفريقيا الوسطى     والي جنوب دارفور: نيالا “28” في ميعادها المحدد    

هل بدأت أفريقيا تنفصل إلى قارتين؟

أدى اكتشاف شرخ كبير قرب العاصمة الكينية نيروبي إلى تعزيز رأي علمي يرى تسارعا في تصدع الصفائح التكتونية للقارة الأفريقية مما سيؤدي نهاية المطاف إلى انقسام أفريقيا إلى قارتين.

وظهر هذا “التصدع” الكبير في جنوب غرب كينيا بمنطقة ناروك أواخر الأسبوع الماضي، وبلغ طوله عدة مئات من الأمتار وبعمق وصل 15 مترا، مما أدى إلى قطع الطريق التجاري الرابط بين ماي ماهيو وناروك.

ودفعت الصور المدهشة لهذا التشقق بعض الهيئات العلمية إلى اعتبار ما حدث دليلا على الانفصال المستقبلي للقارة إلى قسمين، غير أن صحيفة لوباريزيان الفرنسية لفتت إلى أن هذه النظرية -المستندة بالتأكيد إلى واقع علمي- بعيدة كل البعد عن الإجماع بين الباحثين.

وقالت إن المنطقة الكينية المذكورة تقع في “الوادي المتصدع العظيم” الممتد على بعد آلاف الكيلومترات من خليج عدن في الشمال إلى زيمبابوي في الجنوب، منبهة إلى أن الصدع يصيب الطبقة الخارجية للقشرة الأرضية المكونة من صفائح متحركة، مما يعتبر الخطوة الأولى في عملية فصل القارة إلى جزئين يتوسطهما محيط، وتلك عملية بطيئة للغاية، حسب لوباريزيان.

ونسبت الصحيفة للباحثة بجامعة لندن لوسيا بيريز دياز قولها -في مقال لها نُشر على الموقع الإنجليزي “ذي كونفرسيشن”- إن “هذا التصدع الذي يستمر في النمو هو الذي سبب انهيار جزء من طريق نيروبي-ناروك، مما صاحبه نشاط زلزالي في المنطقة”.

وأكد العالم الجيولوجي الأميركي بن آندروز ما ذهبت إليه الباحثة، إذ قال في مقابلة مع قناة “سي بي أس” الأميركية أن “ما نراه أمامنا صدع تشكل بكل تأكيد على مدى آلاف بل ربما مئات الآلاف من السنين”.

وحسب آندروز فإن الأمطار الغزيرة الأخيرة في كينيا كشفت ظاهرة أعمق، وهي حركة الصفائح التكتونية، أي أنها أدت لشقوق في القشرة الأرضية تتحرك بحوالي 2.5 سم في السنة، على حد تعبيره.

غير أن “لوباريزيان” أوردت تفنيدا لهذه الفرضية من طرف خبير الزلازل الأميركي ستيفن هيكس، إذ نشر في تغريدة له على تويتر أن هذا “التصدع لم تصاحبه نشاطات زلزالية، وليس ثمة ما يشير إلى أن سببه المباشر هو الوادي المتصدع العظيم”.

وقال هيكس في هذا الإطار إنه يفضل في الوقت الحالي الخيار الأبسط الذي يرجع ما حدث إلى السيول الناجمة عن الأمطار الغزيرة التي شهدتها هذه المنطقة من كينيا، مستبعدا أن يكون سبب التصدع هو حركة في الصفائح التكتونية.

واتفقت الخبيرة الجيولوجية الأميركية ويندي بوهون مع هذا الرأي، مؤكدة في الوقت ذاته أن هذا لا يؤثر على اعتقادها بأن القارة الأفريقية في طور الانفصال إلى قارتين.

وإذا ما استمر هذا “الانفصال” التدريجي، فإنه سيؤدي إلى فصل القرن الأفريقي، ليشكل الصومال وجزء من إثيوبيا وكينيا وتنزانيا جزيرة تبتعد عن القارة، غير أن مثل هذا السيناريو سيستغرق عشرات الملايين من السنين، على حد تعبير لوباريزيان.

المصدر : الصحافة الفرنسية







اقرأ أيضاً